No Case Too Big, No Case Too Small


Holy shit, I just read issue #2 of Ian Brill’s Chip ‘n’ Dale Rescue Rangers comic, and I am grinning like an idiot right now.

After ranting and raving about Brill’s Darkwing Duck book, I was totally stoked to hear that he was also going to be taking on the Rescue Rangers.  I read the first issue last month and enjoyed it, but it didn’t quite grab me the way Darkwing did.  Except for a pretty rad flashback to Gadget’s childhood, there wasn’t really anything as clever as the stuff Brill was doing over in St. Canard.  But, when I saw the first two pages of the second issue, I swear to god I almost cried with joy.  Why?  Well, take a look:

  

Yeah it’s totally awesome that Dale’s bat girlfriend Foxglove is around, but besides that, does anything about this scene look familiar to you?  It should…

How cool is that?  Seriously, how fucking cool is that???  I love that Brill is presenting the events of the god damn NES game as a thing that actually happened to Chip and Dale, a part of their backstory.  This is the kind of nerdy-ass bullshit that I live for, and I am so glad that these comics are in the hands of somebody with the same fanboyish attention to detail as myself.  Look at the apple!!!!!

After the two awesomest opening pages in the history of comic books, Chip ‘n’ Dale Rescue Rangers continues to be a lot of fun.  Overall, I’d say the book is, for lack of a better term, more “kiddie” than the Darkwing book, but it takes the mythology of the source material just as seriously, and seems to have the same ambitions to boldly expand upon that mythology.  The last page indicates that Fat Cat himself is about to get involved, so I’m stoked to see if these two gumshoes can pick up the motherfucking slack.

Seriously, if you have any fond memories of the Disney Afternoon, you should be checking out these books.  They are clever, reverent, engaging, and they both have gorgeous artwork.  Between Chip ‘n’ Dale and Darkwing Duck, I am pretty sure I’d deeply tongue kiss Ian Brill if he asked me to.  And to put that into perspective, here is what he looks like:

Dangerous, indeed, I.B.  Dangerous indeed.

Leave a Reply

