Stuff For Your Google Reader


Hey everybody, I apologize for the lack of posts in the past few weeks.  I have a few things planned though, so the Sense of Right Alliance should be back with a vengeance very soon.  In the meantime, go read some other shit!  Here are a few suggestions:

TV CASUALLY

My roommate (and one-time Sense of Right Alliance contributor), Grath Madden, writes a blog about the TV shows he watches.  I can report first-hand that he watches a fuck of a lot of TV shows, and while only a handful of them are actually decent shows that normal people might want to watch, his opinions on all of them are fun to read.  Grath’s updates come shockingly often, and they’re always short, quick bursts of rage or appreciation that are perfect for RSS feed readin’.  So if you’re looking for a blog in which 30 Rock, short-lived BBC drama Outsiders, and versions The Biggest Loser from New Zealand are all treated with equal care and attention, look no further than the awesomely named TV CASUALLY.

Moving on to people I don’t know personally, I’ve recently discovered a couple of really cool comic-book-related blogs.  Both have very specific focuses, and those focuses happen to be two of my favorite things in the world.

DUCK COMICS REVUE

I’ve made no secret of my lifelong fascination with Disney Duck comics.  I ravenously consumed these stories as a kid, and before I had any idea who the fuck Superman or Luke Skywalker or Indiana Jones were, Scrooge McDuck was my first guide to the world of epic, globe-trotting adventure and intrigue.  This love hasn’t diminished with time, and since I got back into comics a year or so ago, the single most satisfying experience I’ve had was the evening I nestled into a big cozy armchair with a cup of coffee and a hardcover copy of Don Rosa’s The Life and Times of Scrooge McDuck Companion. To this day, nothing stirs my imagination quite the way these Duck stories do, and it’s nice to find a kindred spirit in Duck Comics Revue blogger Geox.

Geox reviews Duck comics seemingly at random, covering everything from classic tales from Barks and Rosa to some of the less prestigious work that’s come out of Italy and Norway.  His thoughts on all the comics, good or bad, are consistently thoughtful and unique.  The interesting thing about his reviews are that, although he’s definitely viewing the material through the filter of an “adult” perspective, he never loses touch with the childlike and wide-eyed wonder that drew him to these stories in the first place.  He manages to deconstruct these stories pretty thoroughly without becoming detached and cynical, and that’s a tough balance to strike.  And holy crap, I just discovered that this dude also reviews DuckTales episodes!  There goes the rest of my work week!

BATMAN COMPLETION

Josh Kyu Saiewitz, writer of the Batman Completion blog, is one ambitious dude.  His goal, as he states it, is to “experience all of Batman in comics, film, television, and video games, in the order in which they were published, and to write about them as I go.”  He’s been at it for over a year now, and so far he’s gotten as far as Detective Comics #56 from October, 1941… so um, good luck, dude.  I can only imagine this dude’s quivering 90-year-old hands struggling to properly scan his copy of Year One, before he drops dead on his keyboard in the middle of a snarky comment about Catwoman being a hooker.

But I love him for even taking on this crazy mission, and his commentaries on Batman’s earliest adventures (viewed in the context of the 70 years of evolution the character has since gone through) are really fun to read.  He clearly has a deep reverence for the character, but not so much that he’ll sugarcoat how utterly retarded comic book storytelling can sometimes be.  If you’re a fan of stuff like Superman is a Dick, then you should check out this blog, because sometimes this stuff is even dumber in context.

I hope you enjoy these blogs as much as I do, but if you’ve been anxiously awaiting my return – don’t fret, true believers!  I will be back very soon, with lots of stuff to talk about… including my shiny new Nintendo 3DS, and the return of the motherfucking SWAMP THING!!!!!

Leave a Reply

