The Nintendo Resolution: Resident Evil Revelations


Resident Evil
RESIDENT EVIL REVELATIONS
Console: Wii U
Start Date: May 31, 2013
End Date: January 18, 2015

The very first blogging I ever did was writing about my progression through Resident Evil 4, so this feels a little bit like coming full circle.  Especially since this is the only good game to come out of the franchise since then.

I actually started playing this when it was originally released for the 3DS, almost exactly three years ago, on February 7, 2012.  I really enjoyed the game, particularly the awesome cruise ship setting (which was borrowed from the little-known Game Boy Color game Resident Evil Gaiden).  But I never beat it.  I thought I got decently far during that playthrough, but looking it up now, I realize I only reached Episode 3 (of the game’s 12).  This was the Promenade Deck, where I faced an awful boss whose main characteristics were (a) screaming “MAYDAY!!” over and over again, and scaring me to death, and (b) fucking my shit up.  The reason he fucked me up so bad was because somehow I had missed getting the shotgun earlier in the game, and there was no way this fucker was gonna go down without a shotgun!  As I am wont to do, I put the game aside for the time being, and vowed that if I ever picked it up again, I’d make sure to get that goddamn shotgun!

Fast forward to May 31, 2013, and the game is ported to the Wii U.  I decide that this is definitely more of a consoley experience, and so I sell my 3DS version.  Downloading the Wii U version stands out in my memory, because it was the game that pushed past the console’s internal memory, forcing me to attach an external hard drive (the very hard drive, in fact, which crapped out on me soon after and destroyed my Pikmin 3 save file).

I actually went through several stop-and-go periods with this game, finally working my way up to the “Mayday” boss in February of the following year.  But even with the shotgun, I still had so much trouble beating his dumb ass!  Here is my miiverse “Death Messages” from just one of the many times this guy killed me:

Mayday

This so frustrated me that I stopped playing again, effectively putting yet another game on my backlog for almost a year.  This one especially stuck in my craw, since I’d been halted in the SAME DAMN SPOT as the first time!

When I picked it back up in January of 2015, I was determined to, at the very least, beat this stupid boss!  And, to make a long story short, I beat him and then plowed my way through the rest of the game fairly easily.

zlCfzS51Q_YptalbYX

 

Despite all my dumbass problems with it, I really enjoyed this game!  I mean, the story barely made any sense to me, but that’s par for the course with this franchise.  If, like me, you got burned out on Resident Evil because of how godawful parts 5 and 6 were, do yourself a favor and check this one out!  I’m sure you will get through it with way less drama than I did.

NEXT:
Swords & Soldiers HD

Return to the Nintendo Resolution hub page

 

 

Leave a Reply

