The Nintendo Resolution: Swords & Soldiers HD


Swords and Soldiers
SWORDS & SOLDIERS HD
Console: Wii U
Start Date: May 22, 2014
End Date: January 19, 2015

Swords & Soldiers is a pretty interesting game; the best way to describe it is that it’s a 2D side-scrolling tower-defense-esque game.  Your army works their way from left to right in an attempt to reach the enemy’s base and destroy it, while the opposing force does the same thing from right to left.  As the omnipresent hand of God, the player assigns units to this conflict and powers them up, as well as raining hell directly on to the enemy.  I don’t know if that’s a decent enough description – if not, go watch a goddamn youtube video or something.

I’m pretty sure I played the Wii version of this game a little bit back in the day, but I didn’t really start in earnest until it was rereleased for the Wii U.  Then, I got up to one level which just stopped me in my tracks.

cry for help

No one gave me the tips I so desired, and so I gave up as usual.  This time I actually had a pretty decent excuse though – Mario Kart 8 came out the day after I posted that, and I imagine that monopolized almost all of my video game time for the next few weeks.

When I started playing again, I rejiggered my strategy on the offending level.  It turns out that my problem was I was trying to be too strategic, which is a weird problem to have in a strategy game.  I was trying to carefully choose my units, alternating between brawlers, range fighters and healers, and meticulously powering them up when necessary.  It turns out that the correct approach with this level is to just send out a zillion of the weakest fighters and just let them power through the enemies.  Once I figured that out, I got through the level without incident, and in fact finished the game through to the end in a single play session.

Soldiers ending

Swords & Soldiers is a very fun game, and since it’s a mere $2 on the Wii U eShop, I definitely recommend it.  I only played through the single player campaign, but I have a feeling that the two-player mode is where the game really shines.  Maybe one day I will make some friends and find out!

NEXT:
Citizens of Earth

Return to the Nintendo Resolution hub page

Leave a Reply

